Preschool Teachers, Except Special Education
The training and qualifications required of preschool teachers vary widely. Each State has licensing requirements that regulate caregiver training, ranging from a high school diploma, to community college courses, to a college degree in child development or early childhood education. Some States require continuing education for workers in this field. For instance,
Many States prefer preschool teachers and child-care workers to have a Child Development Associate (CDA) credential, which is offered by the Council for Early Childhood Professional Recognition. The CDA credential is recognized as a qualification for teachers and directors in 46 States and the
State law requires people involved in the day-to-day operations of a child day center to be cleared of specific crimes by obtaining a criminal record report from the Department of State Police. The criminal record report must be obtained within the first 21 days of (or fewer than 91 days prior to) employment or volunteer service. Neither workers nor volunteers can be listed in the Child Protective Services Registry.
• The education and experience requirements vary according to the specific preschool/day care facility.
• If the preschool is certified and/or requires a degree, then a bachelor’s degree must be obtained from a state approved program which usually includes student teaching, with specific courses and experience in the appropriate subject or grade level as required by the State Department of Education.
• Child Development Associate (CDA)
• If a teaching license is required then one must obtain passing score on the Praxis I (beginning teacher assessment) and II (content knowledge test) For More Information, Contact:
Virginia Department Of Education
P.O. Box 2120
• Exam Fee:
• In state: $50
• Out of state (based on the address written on the application form): $75
• License Renewal: $25
The data sources for the information displayed here include: Virginia Career VIEW Research.